Articles

Archive for May, 2012

How to Specify Preferences in QuickBooks for WebConnect QuickTip

Thursday, May 31st, 2012

Using the QuickBooks WebConnect Method of Online Banking Access

QuickBooks has service connection preference options related to online banking (if your bank uses the Web Connect method of online access). The first option—Give Me The Option Of Saving A File Whenever I Download Web Connect Data—tells QuickBooks to provide a choice to save data for later processing instead of automatically processing the transactions when you download WebConnect data. QuickBooks provides the choice by opening a dialog that lets you decide whether to import the data immediately or save it to a file so you can import it later (you have to supply a filename). The QuickBooks dialog also includes an option to reset this option. This option only works when you select Open on the file download dialog. If you disable this option, the file is automatically opened and the data is imported into QuickBooks.

Another option with regard to online banking using the WebConnect method of online access is If QuickBooks Is Run By My Browser, Don’t Close It After Web Connect Is Done. Selecting this option means that when you download WebConnect data from your Financial Institution (after selecting Open on the Download dialog), QuickBooks remains open after you process the data. If you deselect this option, QuickBooks closes automatically as soon as your data is processed.

You can enable these settings by doing the following:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Service Connection icon on the left pane and then click the My Preferences tab.
  3. Choose either or both of these options by clicking the appropriate check boxes, and then click OK to save your settings.

Working with QuickBooks Reports that Always Need Modifications QuickTip

Wednesday, May 30th, 2012

Opening the Modify Report Window When Selecting a Report in QuickBooks

If you find that almost every time you select a report you have to customize it, you can tell QuickBooks to open the Modify Report window whenever a report is brought to the screen. If this feature would be useful to you:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Reports & Graphs icon on the left pane and click the My Preferences tab.
  3. Choose Prompt Me To Modify Report Options Before Opening A Report by clicking the check box.
  4. Click OK to save this setting.

 

How to Manage Integrated Applications in QuickBooks QuickTip

Tuesday, May 29th, 2012

QuickBooks Preferences for Managing Third-Party Applications

QuickBooks gives you options for managing applications that interact with your QuickBooks company file. You can let third-party software (for things like credit card processing or payroll processing) have access to the data in your QuickBooks files—or not, depending on your preference. You can choose to prohibit applications from using your data altogether or have QuickBooks notify you before running an application whose certificate has expired (a certificate says that the application is authentic and that your data will only be used for appropriate purposes). There is also a list of the applications that have tried to open your QuickBooks data file, and you can manage the properties for those applications individually. To set your preferences for Integrated Applications:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Integrated Applications icon on the left pane and then click the Company Preferences tab.
  3. Choose either the Don’t Allow Any Applications To Access This Company file option or the option to Notify The User Before Running Any Application Whose Certificate Has Expired.
  4. If desired, click on any of the applications in the Applications That Have Previously Requested Access To This Company File list and remove or change the preferences for this application by clicking the appropriate button.
  5. Click OK to save your settings.

 

QuickBooks Purchase Orders and Inventory QuickTip

Monday, May 28th, 2012

Options for Processing Inventory Transactions in QuickBooks

The Purchase Orders and Inventory options in QuickBooks are used to enable the inventory function and adjust settings for processing inventory transactions. First you must tell QuickBooks that you want to enable the inventory feature; purchase orders are automatically enabled with that action. Then, you can choose to have QuickBooks warn you if you attempt to issue a purchase order with a PO number that already exists. The third option in this section, when enabled, issues a warning about a lack of inventory, which is useful during customer invoicing. If you sell ten widgets but your stock of widgets is fewer than ten, QuickBooks displays a message telling you there’s insufficient stock to fill the order. You can still complete your invoice, but this lets you know to order more widgets immediately. To enable these options:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Items & Inventory icon on the left pane and then click the Company Preferences tab.
  3. Choose the Inventory And Purchase Orders Are Active option by clicking the check box.
  4. To enable the Warn About Duplicate Purchase Order Numbers and/or the Warn If Not Enough Inventory Quantity On Hand (QOH) To Sell option, click he appropriate check boxes.
  5. Click OK to save these settings.

 

How to Automatically Recall Information in QuickBooks QuickTip

Sunday, May 27th, 2012

Pre-filling Data on Transactions in QuickBooks

QuickBooks has an option to Automatically Remember Account Or Transaction Information, which tells QuickBooks to pre-fill data on transactions (bills, checks, invoices, and sales receipts). You must choose one of the methods available for pre-filling transaction data if you decide to use this option. The first option, Automatically Recall Last Transaction For This Name, means that QuickBooks will present the last transaction for any name (for instance, a vendor) with all the fields filled with the data from that last transaction. Most of the time, you merely have to change the amount. All the other information (such as the posting accounts, and the text in a memo field) can often be retained for the current transaction. If you choose Pre-Fill Accounts For Vendor Based On Past Entries, for vendor transactions only, QuickBooks tracks the accounts you use for each vendor over time and when a pattern emerges the accounts are pre-filled in the transaction window. To use this option:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the General icon on the left pane and then click the My Preferences tab.
  3. In the Automatically Recall Information box select the Automatically Remember Account Or Transaction Information by clicking the check box.
  4. Select either the Using Automatically Recall Last Transaction For This Name option or the choose Pre-fill Accounts For Vendor Based On Past Entries by choosing the appropriate check box.
  5. Click OK to save your settings.