Articles

Archive for June, 2012

QuickBooks News Update

Friday, June 22nd, 2012

QuickBooks News Update—6/22/12

New Version of SplendidCRM Synchorinizes with QuickBooks so that your accounting system will always be up-to-date.

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/splendidcrm-announces-version-66-with-quickbooks-synchronization-2012-06-21

http://www.splendidcrm.com/

How to Print Account Names on Vouchers in QuickBooks QuickTip

Wednesday, June 20th, 2012

Posting Accounts on Check Stubs in QuickBooks

QuickBooks has an option that can be handy if you print your checks and the check forms you purchase have vouchers (stubs).  Enabling this option means that the text on the stub will display posting accounts. That information is of no interest to your vendors, so only use this option if you keep and file check vouchers instead of leaving them attached to the check. To set this up in QuickBooks:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Checking icon on the left pane to open the QuickBooks Checking preferences, and click the Company Preferences tab.
  3. Choose Print Account Names On Voucher by clicking the check box.
  4. Click OK to save this change.

How to Set the Closing Date in QuickBooks QuickTip

Tuesday, June 19th, 2012

Locking the Books in QuickBooks

For most businesses, closing the books occurs some time after the end of the fiscal year—usually within the first couple of months of the next fiscal year, as soon as your business tax forms have been filed. This is done to lock the books, so that users cannot add, remove, or change any transactions. After taxes have been filed based on the information in the system, nothing should ever be changed. Closing the books in QuickBooks does nothing more than lock users out of the previous year’s transactions. At the same time, QuickBooks allows you to configure user rights to enable or disable a user’s ability to see, or even manipulate, closed transactions. Closing the books in QuickBooks does not set the information in cement (as it does in other business accounting software); it can be changed and/or deleted by users with the appropriate permissions. Many QuickBooks users prefer to lock the transactions for the previous year as a way to prevent changes to the data (except by users with the appropriate permissions). If you have set up users and passwords for access to your QuickBooks data file, only the QuickBooks user named Admin can set the closing date and password. Make sure that anyone given the password understands the bookkeeping ramifications of changing a transaction in a way that might change the totals you used for tax preparation. To close the year and lock the books:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Accounting icon on the left pane to open the Accounting preferences, and click the Company Preferences tab.
  3. In the Closing Date section of the dialog, click the Set Date/Password button
  4. In the Set Closing Date and Password dialog, enter the closing date (the last date of your fiscal year) and a password.
  5.  If you want to keep estimates and other transactions open check the Exclude Estimates, Sales Orders And Purchase Orders From Closing Date Restrictions option.
  6. Click OK to save these changes.

Warn When Deleting a Transaction or Unused List Item in QuickBooks QuickTip

Sunday, June 17th, 2012

Have QuickBooks Confirm Before Deleting

Since none of us is perfect, it’s not uncommon to delete an item inadvertently. Fortunately, QuickBooks has an option that produces a warning when you delete a transaction or an item that has not been used in a transaction—it’s a standard message asking you to confirm a delete action.  (QuickBooks doesn’t permit you to delete an item that has been used in a transaction.)  When this option is enabled you must confirm that you want to delete the transaction or unused list item before QuickBooks will proceed. To turn this option on:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the General icon on the left pane and then click the My Preferences tab.
  3. Select the Warn When Deleting A Transaction Or Unused List Item option by clicking the corresponding check box.
  4. Click OK to save the setting.

 

How to Change the Default Message Accompanying E-Mailed Transactions in QuickBooks QuickTip

Saturday, June 16th, 2012

Customizing QuickBooks for Sending Forms

When you email invoices, statements, reports or any other transactions to customers and vendors via email, QuickBooks creates an email message to accompany the form. This message can be customized for each form that you email. QuickBooks allows you to design the message, subject, and salutation that are sent with the e-mailed transactions. For example, when sending invoices to customers you can specify that the subject line always says, “An invoice from ABC Company.” Each type of customer or vendor transaction can have a different message that accompanies the e-mailed transaction. To customize emails for one or all of the transactions that you send to customers and vendors:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the Send Forms icon on the left pane, and click the Company Preferences tab.
  3. Using the drop-down menus, select which type of transaction to customize, the greeting field to use, and which salutation you want.
  4. Fill in the bcc and subject lines you would like to always appear when sending this type of QuickBooks transaction.
  5. Enter the body of the message that will accompany the transaction. Try to make it general enough that it will fit for any customer.
  6. If appropriate, go back and select another type of QuickBooks transaction and customize the fields for those emails.
  7. When finished with all transaction types, click OK to save your settings.