Articles

Warn When Deleting a Transaction or Unused List Item in QuickBooks QuickTip

Have QuickBooks Confirm Before Deleting

Since none of us is perfect, it’s not uncommon to delete an item inadvertently. Fortunately, QuickBooks has an option that produces a warning when you delete a transaction or an item that has not been used in a transaction—it’s a standard message asking you to confirm a delete action.  (QuickBooks doesn’t permit you to delete an item that has been used in a transaction.)  When this option is enabled you must confirm that you want to delete the transaction or unused list item before QuickBooks will proceed. To turn this option on:

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the General icon on the left pane and then click the My Preferences tab.
  3. Select the Warn When Deleting A Transaction Or Unused List Item option by clicking the corresponding check box.
  4. Click OK to save the setting.

 

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.