Articles

QuickBooks Embezzlement Prevention QuickTip

Save Transactions Before Printing in QuickBooks

By default, QuickBooks automatically saves transactions before you print them. This is a very good security device in QuickBooks, as it thwarts employees from purloining products (an employee creates an invoice and packing slip to have products shipped to friends or relatives) or taking money (someone creates an invoice, saves it and then makes changes before printing and presenting the invoice to the customer, who pays the larger amount and the employee pockets the difference).

QuickBooks allows you to change this preference, but there is no good reason to do this. Having transactions saved before you print them ensures that the transactions in your QuickBooks file match your printed records.

To be certain that this option is enabled,

  1. Choose Edit | Preferences from the QuickBooks menu bar.
  2. Click the General icon on the left pane and click the Company Preferences tab.
  3. Look to see that the Save Transactions Before Printing checkbox has been chosen. If not, click that checkbox.
  4. Click OK to save this setting.

 

Be Sociable, Share!

Comments are closed.